What’s next?

I’m a week out of the Ultimate Reset. I’ve been figuring it out on my own, and it’s kind of challenging. Time seems to not be on my side, but I will prevail.

I hate planning. I fight it. Waah.

I’ve been getting up around 9 am most days, which is rough later at work, but that’s when my body wants to be up.

These are the tasks that I have designated as non-negotiable:

Tuesday – Saturday.

I need to be at work by 4 pm. I leave my house no later than 2:45 pm because of the awesomeness that is Long Island traffic. I get home from work around 1:30 am most days. I’m usually up until @ 3 am, after I walk my dog, and feed him and the cat.

This gives me 9 am – 2:45 pm, 5.75 hours.

I also prioritize two things: exercising and coaching. I need at least an hour for exercise, depending on what I’m doing that day, and with washing and dressing, let’s call it 2 hours. I need at least an hour a day for coaching on work days. Three hours down.

I have 2.75 hours remaining. I haven’t walked the dog yet, that’s about 15 minutes.

I need to eat, yo. Breakfast I rock Shakeology mixed with various goodness most days, so it’s quick, but I also get lunch and dinner together. I’ll address prepping food in a moment. Let’s subtract another 30 minutes.

I have 2 hours left uncommitted.

I am determined to better myself, and I miss reading, so 30 minutes to reading. I haven’t mentioned a single errand yet. No laundry drop off/pick up, no post office, no last minute to the grocery store or Target. No day dreaming. No unexpected phone calls from my father busting my chops about not calling enough.

I can take that remaining 90 minutes as buffer.

Sunday and Monday.

My “weekend”. I still need to sleep, and I average 6-7 hours. Exercise for about an hour, wash and such, total 2 hours. Read 30 minutes. Coach work at least 3 hours each day, though I really want to up that. These are the days I get groceries, run errands that don’t pop up during the week, and potentially have some leisure time.

If I go to the supermarket and the smaller, healthier store, that’s at least 2 hours. I tend to split it between the 2 days, but I might be better off hitting up both the same day. Then I’ll need to cook all this shit. I used to cook as much as possible for the entire week when I was eating more meat, but I’m not eating any right now, and veggies don’t hold up as well as meat over a few days. I think if I focus on soups and raw dishes I can stretch it out, but I’ll need to still do it twice a week. I can take some of that buffer time one of those days for cooking. Ok, if I wake around 9 am on Sunday, that’s almost 10 hours taken: exercise and washing 2, reading :30, coach 3, groceries 2, cooking 2. Working out and groceries need to happen early in the day or else they won’t happen. The benefit to doing as much as possible on one of those days is that I will have more time on the other day. If I get groceries and cook, I don’t need to do that twice, so that’s 4 hours free. I’ve always been less than stellar about sticking to a plan, it’s time I change that.

Leave a comment

Filed under grey matter

Leave a Reply

