Good changes are time consuming.

I’m not sure how I’m going to tailor my diet. I kind of like where I’m at right now, pretty much vegan, but I don’t know if I want to maintain that in the long term. First, it’s time consuming. The food I’m eating now is nowhere near as calorie dense as animal products. I can’t prep a week in advance, so I’m doing 2 days or so at a time. The second thing is grain. I don’t care for grains much. I had a torrid past with them, they trigger bad eating habits, so I don’t partake much. I’m paleo-ish I guess. With that, it would be kind of, well very, boring to eat vegan and eliminate grains. I don’t want to overdue soy either. That’s fucking boring. Okay, so I think I’ll slowly reintroduce eggs and fish. I’m in no hurry. Poultry, beef, pork, etc might become a treat, rather than a given. I’m definitely not reintroducing caffeine any time soon. The detox from it was miserable. I absolutely will eat a ton of fruits and vegetables. I didn’t realize how much I had gotten away from produce until recently. What about dairy? Well, I don’t know. I’m not a milk drinker already, but butter, hmm. And cheese. Oh, cheese. I don’t know yet. I’m not craving any of it, but if I want some in the future, then I’ll have to make the decision then. Maybe as a treat. I can cook just fine without butter, so that’s fine at the moment. I guess I should figure out how to keep my cast iron pan seasoned without bacon fat though. This is weird. I would have laughed at this six months ago.

Leave a comment

Filed under cook, health

Leave a Reply

