Fake it til you make it?

I will say that I have said this many times. I read a quote that caused me to rethink it. It went something like, “I was really good at faking that I wanted to do things.” I don’t remember where I saw that, but it occurred to me that we should really do or not do.

When eating, eat.

I’m no zen priest, but that feels more natural than, “When eating, pretend to eat until you eat.” I can apply that to literally eating, but also exercising, and being true to myself. Bullshitting around like I’m doing something is silly. If I’m not going to do it, then why not just not do it? Then, when I do get around to it, it’ll be valuable to me.

I’m not going to tell anyone to fake it. I’m going to tell them to do it.

1 Comment

Filed under grey matter

One response to “Fake it til you make it?

  1. I thought about this for a bit. That last sentiment can be taken as motivation or a confrontation (challenge?) depending on how you approach it. You’ve made me start thinking about context.

    jlg

Leave a Reply

