What’s cooking?

My dumb foot wound made my regular Monday cooking marathon less enjoyable, and I prepared less as a result. I also need to learn my local supermarket’s weekly schedule (restocking, sales, etc) because Monday afternoon was less than impressive in the meat department. Zero whole birds. Zero ground beef. Unless there was some sort of meat shortage, it was a bad day to go. I’ll learn. I’m going to try earlier on Monday next week. Onto the deliciousness:

I cooked pork loin and chicken thighs for my meats. I prepped rubs and rinsed meat while I warmed the oven.

Pork loin – 30 Days of Paleo Spiced Rubbed Pork Tenderloin

I cook meat primarily by temperature, with time as a rough guide. I also substitute ingredients regularly. The great thing about cooking is that with experience comes improvisation.

The ingredients:

1.25 lbs of pork tenderloin
2 teaspoons paprika
1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric – nope, too expensive
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom – nope, unable to locate
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon garlic powder
3/4 teaspoon ground coriander
I added a little more ginger and black pepper instead. It probably tasted a little different, but still delicious.

http://www.30daysofpaleo.com/my-blog/2011/02/spice-rubbed-pork-tenderloin-baked-veggies.html

http://jensgonepaleo.blogspot.com/2011/01/tangine-spice-rubbed-pork-tenderloin.html

While I rested the pork I cooked kale, and then cut sweet potatoes and parsnips.

Kale – Nom Nom Paleo Quick and Simple Stir Fried Kale

I didn’t have bacon at the ready (the horror). I did have plenty of rendered bacon fat however, and the kale was cooked in that.

http://nomnompaleo.com/post/3082537932/quick-and-simple-stir-fried-kale-and-bacon

20111021-102954.jpg

Chicken thighs & sweet potatoes. Yum.

Chicken thighs – bone in, skin on. Rinsed and patted dry. Salt, pepper, miscellaneous seasoning that sounded good at the time. Preheated oven to 375 F. Baking sheet, olive oil drizzled over. I check 30 minutes in and then 10 minutes after that until my thermometer reads around 160 degrees and the juice runs clear.

Sweet potatoes – Cleaned, cut into chunks. A chunk is the size of something you would eat without needing to cut, but not so small that you’d eat two in one mouthful. Sprinkled with left over spice rub from Pork Tenderloin recipe, also olive oil. Cooked with chicken thighs until tender.

Parsnips – Simply Recipes Roasted Parsnips

http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/roasted_parsnips/

20111021-103028.jpg

Exceedingly crappy cell phone photos were abounding.

I love horseradish.

Chicken broth – from last week’s chicken, all leftover parts (unappetizing meat pieces, bones, guts) a slug (1/3 cup) of vinegar, into the slow cooker, water to @ ½ inch from the top. High setting until it begins to boil, low setting for at least 12 hours. Add more water once in that time, to the same level. When the bones are falling apart I stop. I allow it to cool for about 30 minutes then strain first through a strainer and then through cheesecloth. Mine is cloudy because I cook it for a long time and the fat and bone break down a lot.

I normally cook another meat, but my zombie foot wasn’t having it. Three proteins with three vegetables easily gets me through the week. I’ll likely make a soup this week from the broth. If I don’t like my veg choices I fall back to frozen for a night, and if my meats aren’t appealing to me I grab something random from the fridge and throw it in the skillet and ta-da. It’s far more reasonable for me to make one unplanned meal than attempt to cook all week. I learned a while ago that I won’t do that.

2 Comments

Filed under cook

2 responses to “What’s cooking?

  1. I made mashed parsnips tonight and they were a-mazing! If you want the recipe, hit me up on Twitter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

